P-Noy awards Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations

From over 200 aspirants nationwide, President Benigno S. Aquino III recognized the winners of the 9th Search for Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations on October 27 at Heroes Hall in Malacañang.

TAYO winner
President Benigno S. Aquino III and 9th TAYO Awards Winners

Assisting the President during the awarding ceremony were Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, TAYO Awards Foundation’s Paolo Benigno Aquino “Bam” Aquino, National Youth Commission Chairman and CEO, Leon Flores III, Guillermo Aponte, president and general manager of The Coca-Cola Export Corporation, Koh Kong Meng, General Manager and Executive Director of Lenovo ASEAN, and Secretary Hermino “Sonny” Coloma of the Presidential Communications Operations Office.

The 9th TAYO Awards is co-presented by Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines and showcases organizations that have deep commitment in addressing social concerns such as alleviating the need for community healthcare by using herbal medicines, teaching accounting to marginalized cooperatives, promoting and preserving cultural heritage and the arts, and environmental conservation.

The representatives of the organizations faced a formidable panel of judges that includes Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Bam Aquino – TAYO Awards Foundation, Leon Flores III – Chairman and CEO, National Youth Commission; Wally Panganiban – Media Affairs Director, The Coca-Cola Export Corporation; Vicky Agorilla – Country General Manager, Lenovo Philippines; Jose Mari Oquiñena – Undersecretary for Special Concerns, Presidential Communications Operations Office; Risa Hontiveros – Spokesperson, Akbayan; Claude Ramos – Marketing and Promotions Specialist, Cebu Pacific Air; Arline Adeva – Senior Public Relations Manager, Jollibee; Hector Melencio, Asst. Manager, PAGCOR Marketing and Casino Customer Relations Department; Redg Plopinio – ASEAN Youth Awardeee 2011; Ivy Lisa – Sector Editor, Manila Bulletin; Eric Baroquillo – Senior Manager, Bank of the Philippine Islands, and Saab Magalona – Actress/Blogger.

Winners were chosen based on the impact of their projects to the community, the capability to bind the spirit of volunteerism and citizenship, creativity and innovation, and the sustainability of the project and their effective use of resources.

Each received a specially sculpted TAYO trophy by artist Toym de Leon Imao, and a P50,000 cash grant from Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines.

Special recognitions given are the Coke Barkada Award from Coca-Cola Foundation, and the Lenovo Young Do-ers IT Award from Lenovo Philippines.

The 9th TAYO Awards was made possible by the TAYO Awards Foundation, Officer of Senator Kiko Pangilinan, and the National Youth Commission in partnership with the Ninoy and Cory Foundation, Philipppine Center of Young Leaders in Governance, and the Department Of Social Welfare and Development. It is presented by Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines, Inc., and is supported by Lenovo, Cebu Pacific, Jollibee, PAGCOR, and SM Malls and SM Cares.

The 9th TAYO Awards winners are:

1. Industrial Engineering Council of Cebu Institute of Technology University – Visayas
2. Linangan sa Imahen, Retorika, at Anyo (LIRA) – NCR
3. Youth Solidarity for Peace-Peace Advocates Zamboanga – Mindanao
4. Association of Locally -Empowered Youth in Northern Mindanao – Mindanao
5. Alyansa ng mga Kristyanong Mag-aaral – Responsable nga Balikatan han mga Kabataan (AKMA-RESBAK) – Visayas
6. Indak Kabataan Youth Organization – NCR
7. University of the Cordilleras – Hapiyoh Mi Cultural Group – Luzon
8. Young Mindanawans Peace Builders – Mindanao
9. Aklan Catholic College Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants – Visayas
10. AUL-STAGE (Sama-samang Tinig ng mga Aktor na Gumagalaw sa Entablado) – Luzon

Marco Dennis

Marco Dennis is an adventurous lifestyle and travel blogger. Follow his adventures at www.thepinoytraveler.com. For events, collaboration and advertisement, email him at dhenzuki@yahoo.com

More Posts