“Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo” starring Padilla clan received the Best Picture award and other major awards in the 4oth Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF 2014) held on Saturday, December 27, 2014, at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) Plenary hall in Pasay City.

MMFF 2014 Winners

Like Best Picture winner, the romantic comedy-film “English Only, Please” starring Derek Ramsay and Jennylyn Mercado also won most of the major awards. Both films bagged a total of nine and seven awards, respectively. “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles” starring Dingdong Dantes got 6 awards including the 3rd Best Picture.

Meanwhile,  the movie entry of Vice Ganda, “Praybeyt Benjamin 2 and Kris Aquino’s “Feng Shui 2” didn’t  win a single award but their movies are the early top earners this year.

Check out the list of winners below.

Main Section:

Best Picture – “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
2nd Best Picture – “English Only Please”
3rd Best Picture – “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”

Best Actor – Derek Ramsay, “English Only Please”
Best Actress – Jennylyn Mercado, “English Only Please”
Best Supporting Actor – Joey Marquez, “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles”
Best Supporting Actress – Lotlot de Leon, “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles”
Best Child Performer – Ryzza Mae Dizon, “My Big Bossing’s Adventures”
Best Director – Dan Villegas, “English Only Please”
Best Cinematographer – Carlo Mendoza, “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Story – “English Only Please”
Best Screenplay – Antoinette Jadaone, “English Only Please”
Best Editor – Marya Ignacio, “English Only Please”
Best Theme Song – “Hindi Pa Tapos” by Gloc-9, “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Musical Scorer – Von de Guzman, “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Sound Engineer – Wild Sound, “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Makeup – “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Visual Effects – Mothership Inc., “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Production Design – Ericsson Navarro, “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”

Youth Choice Film Award – “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence – “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Antonio Villegas Cultural Award – “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”

Best Float – “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Face of the Night – Nadine Lustre

New Wave Full Length Feature Films:

Best Picture – “Magkakabaung,” Jason Paul Laxamana
Best Actor – Allen Dizon, “Magkakabaung”
Best Actress – Zsa Zsa Padilla, “M: Mother’s Maiden Name”
Best Supporting Actor – Kristopher King, “Maratabat”
Best Supporting Actress – Gloria Sevilla, “M: Mother’s Maiden Name”
Best Director – Jason Paul Laxamana – “Magkakabaung”
Special Jury Prize – “M: Mother’s Maiden Name”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share Article: